The National Science Education Standards


This site provides the most clear and comprehensive list of Science Education Standards. The page consists of the following sections:



-Call to Action: The National Science Education Standards are designed to help students achieve the nation’s ultimate goal of scientific literacy. They call for dramatic changes in school systems regarding the teaching of science.

-An Overview: The National Science Education Standards outline the knowledge, understanding, and capabilities that are necessary to become scientifically literate at different grade levels. They also highlight the need to give students the opportunity to learn science. Students require access to skilled professional teachers, adequate classroom time, a rich array of working materials, accommodating workspaces, and the resources of the surrounding community. The Standards emphasize "minds-on" as well as "hands-on" experiences.

Organization of the Standards

The National Standards are presented in the following six chapters:

• The Standards for Science Teaching (Ch. 3)
• The Standards for Professional Development for Teachers of Science (Ch. 4)
• The Standards for Assessment in Science Education (Ch. 5)
• The Standards for Science Content (Ch. 6)
• The Standards for Science Education Programs (Ch. 7)
• The Standards for Science Education Systems (Ch. 8)

Each of these chapters provides an explanation of expectations and requirements for meeting the various sets of Standards. They are organized according to content area and grade level: K-4, 5-8, 9-12. Furthermore, each chapter gives references for additional reading.

The NSES concludes with an epilogue, appendix, a forthcoming index, and a list of credits.

Use Within Deaf Education

The National Science Education Standards can provide teachers with an established criterion for assessing students' knowledge and performance. They can also make students more aware of what they are expected to learn.